top of page

B&R 26 August 2019: Goodbye graveyard, welcome fair

Updated: Oct 4, 2019


Hello everybody,

I will take max 5 minutes of your time to talk about this B&R, and I will try to explain my point of view about it

Who & Why

Hogaak

Well, analizyng the modern meta was clear that Hogaak was too strong for modern, a turn 2 8/8 trample is note a joke. The meta tried to adapt for it, but it was simply too much for modern. To give some numbers, at Grand Prix Las Vegas, 5 of top 8 decks where Hogaak deck, winrate > 55%, share >13%, even with hate cards played in maindeck like Surgical or Leyline. It has warped the format.

Faithless Looting

This ban could seems weird, but I think that Wizard want to simplify their test phase about graveyard synergy. We’re talking about 1 mana graveyard enabled, that could lead to really broken play, like:

1. 2 Arclight Phoenix on turn 1

2. 2 Hollow One on turn 1

3. 4 or 5 creature on turn 2 in Dredge

4. Hogaak plus multiple Vengevine on turn 2 in Hogaak

5. Etc...

So, to remove every chance to get to this plan, they just removed the card that can let this thing, that is Looting

Stoneforge Mystic

I’ve to admit, I’m in love with her, so I’m really happy about this unban. I don’t think that SfM would warp the format, because in this days a 4/4 lifelink on turn 3 is not a big deal anymore, but it will improve some Tier 2/3 decks like UWx midrange, Death & Taxes, GWx toolbox deck.

Personally, I’m going to play an Esper Stoneblade list that I will publish after some test.

What will happen

Well, it’s hard to tell what will happen, personally I think that tron deck will take the crown as best modern deck, but now I can’t tell which one between E-tron or G-tron. After this, we will have a lot of fair deck like Humans, DS in all of its form (Mardu, Esper, Grixis), Jund, Burn, Storm, etc…

If I have to make a list, the 10 most played deck will be (in random order):

1. E-tron

2. G-tron

3. Death Shadow (probably Grixis would be the main build)

4. Jund

5. Stoneblade

6. Storm

7. Humans

8. UWx Control (probably Jeskai would be the main build)

9. Burn

10. Urza Sword combo

I think that, for now, the meta will be safe, but if I’ve to bet to the next card that will be banned, I will point the finger against Ancient Stirrings or Mox Opal.

Moreover, I suppose that the meta will slow down to accept the new unban, and will be more fair. Moreover, GY strategies will still exists (Urza sword and Storm, for example, but there are more other decks like Vizier combo, Hardened Scales, etc…) but they’re going to be fairier than before.

What do you think about this ban?

Regards

Vito

15 views0 comments
bottom of page