top of page

Report Modern Event Monkey with Esper Stoneblade@Milan

Updated: Oct 2, 2019

Hello everybody,

today I will tell you what I did yesterday on the event, the was a 4-turn swiss tournament at my friend Enrico's shop, Monkey .

I played this list:


My Decklist

1st Turn - Jund (2-1)

G1 - Loss

In G1 there was a Dark Confidant in T2 that just won the game alone because I didn't find any response for it.

Side out: 3 Stoneforge Mystic, 1 Batterskull, 1 Sword of Feast and Famine

Side in: 2 Monastery Mentory, 2 Lingering Souls, 1 Celestial Purge

G2 - Win

In G2 I was able to land an early Geist that I protected with discard and removal.

G3 - Win

G3 was a log game with fine interaction, there the mvp was Jace that helped me keep Card Advantage and Card Quality.

2nd Turn - Mardu Shadow (1-2)

G1 - Loss

In G1 my opponent was able to land two early Death's Shadow and I kept a really bad hand.

Side out: 3 Stoneforge Mystic, 1 Batterskull, 1 Sword of Feast and Famine

Side in: 2 Monastery Mentory, 2 Lingering Souls, 1 Celestial Purge

G2 - Win

In G2 we screwed with land (I had 2, my opponent 1). Then I was able to land a T3feri and I started to rip card from my opponent hand with discard after draw. Finally, Snapcaster and Mentor beat my opponent to death

G3 - Loss

G3 was an intense game, but again I kept not so good starting hand and he started value engine with Ranger Captain of Eos, Unearth and K-Command and outvalued me

3rd Turn - Mono Red Prowess (1-2)

G1 - Loss

G1 was so simple: T1 Swifstpear, T2 removal against my SFM with lavadart and Swiftspear, T3 another swiftspear and lava spike, t4 lava spike and GG. I didn't draw any type of removal :(

Side out: 3 Thoughtseize

Side in: 1 Path to Exile, 1 Celestial Purge, 1 Spell Snare

G2 - Win

In G2 I was able to rip Swifstpear from my opponent's hand with Inquisition of Kozilek and he had, other than Swifstpear , only burn spells. Then i managed all my opponent creature with removal and finally I reached 8 mana to hard cast Batterskull with backup of Force of Negation. Obviously, Batterskull lead me to win

G3 - Loss

In G3 my opponent was able to land a Blood Moon on t3 when I didn't acces to black. I tempted to draw some manner to remove it (T3feri or Celestial Purge), but my opponent killed me before that

4th Turn - Esper Shadow (2-0)

G1 - Win

G1 I mulled to 5 and I kept a super hand with a fastland, a push, a discard, a T3feri and 1 fetch. I was able to rip a Death Shadow from my opponent hand, kill another one tih push and rip his unearth with another discard. Then I played T3feri and, with protection from counter, I played Liliana and Jace. Then my opponent scooped up

Side out: 3 Stoneforge Mystic, 1 Batterskull, 1 Sword of Feast and Famine

Side in: 2 Monastery Mentory, 2 Lingering Souls, 1 Celestial Purge

G2 - Win

I mulled to six and my opponent played a discard against me, revealing double Mentor. My opponent sided out all the removal because in G1 I didn't played any creature, and he knew that would be a bad game. In fact, I played a T3 mentor that just win the game alone.


Final Thought

I think that the deck is pretty resiliant against a lot of deck, having all matchup about 50% of win.

I would thank the TO, Enrico and all the people the I met yesterday.


Regards

Vito

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page